This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.

MV City Logo transparent

Welcome to the City of Mount Vernon

The City of Mount Vernon was incorporated on May 6, 1845, is the county seat for Lawrence County, and is a Fourth Class city in the State of Missouri with over 4,500 residents. The City of Mount Vernon is a community located on Interstate 44, considered the half-way point between the cities of Springfield and Joplin. The City is governed by a Mayor and Board of Aldermen, with a City Administrator who is responsible for daily administration of all City functions. 

Policy making and legislative authority are vested in our 8-member Board of Aldermen. The Mayor and City Administrator are responsible for carrying out the policies and ordinances of the Board of Aldermen and overseeing the day-to day operations of the City. The Board of Aldermen and Mayor are elected on a nonpartisan basis..

discover more

Latest News

discover more

City Pool completed in 2023